Updated September 2026 · Budget 2025 Rates

SR&ED Tax Credit Canada: How Much You'll Actually Get Back

CCPCs get a 35% refundable credit on the first $6 million of eligible R&D spending, capped at $2.1 million a year; everyone else gets 15%. Check whether your work qualifies, estimate your federal credit plus every provincial top-up that stacks with it, then see the filing rules and the mistakes that shrink Canadian claims.

Estimate your credit →
35%Enhanced federal rate for CCPCs
$6MExpenditure limit (Budget 2025, up from $3M)
$2.1M/yrMaximum enhanced federal credit

Do You Qualify for SR&ED?

Four questions, an honest verdict. Nothing you select here is saved or sent anywhere.

Entity type
Does your work try to resolve a technological uncertainty through systematic investigation?
Where does most of your R&D spend go?

Answer all four questions above to see your SR&ED verdict.

How Much Will Your SR&ED Claim Be Worth?

Estimate the federal credit and the provincial top-up from the rates stated on each program record in the GrantCompass catalogue. Nothing you enter is saved or sent anywhere.

Entity type
Salaries, materials, subcontractor and other qualified SR&ED costs for the tax year.
Three provinces and territories have no provincial R&D credit in the catalogue. NL and YT have real credits per CRA not yet separate records in the catalogue.
$140,000Federal ITC (35% refundable)
$46,000Provincial top-up (OITC refundable, ORDTC non-refundable)
$186,000Combined credit, gross (46.5% of spend)

The record presents the enhanced 35% credit as refundable for CCPCs: cash back even with no tax owing. Ontario: OITC at 8% (record amount up to $240,000) plus ORDTC at 3.5% (record amount up to $500,000).

Rule: for CCPCs the federal ITC is 35% of qualified expenditures up to $6,000,000 a year (maximum enhanced credit $2,100,000), plus 15% of any excess. Other claimants receive 15% on the full pool. Provincial top-ups apply each record's stated rate and cap. Source: SR&ED and provincial credit records, GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026; canada.ca.

Gross vs cash: the combined figure is the gross credit. Provincial assistance reduces the federal SR&ED base, so combined cash comes in lower (an Ontario CCPC with $500,000 of spend: $201,000 cash, not $232,500 gross). The SR&ED rates by province page walks the rule with the full provincial table.

Non-CCPC note: provincial refundable treatment differs for other corporations. The Saskatchewan refundable credit is CCPC-only, and BC's refundable credit is limited to CCPCs and eligible Canadian public corporations; other claimants receive the non-refundable form.

Updated September 2026. Every program referenced on this page is tracked in the GrantCompass catalogue (973 programs, 674 active), verified against official sources.

What is the SR&ED tax credit, and how is it different from a grant?

Quick answer: SR&ED is a tax incentive you claim after doing eligible R&D, not a grant you apply for in advance. There is no competition, no intake window, and no panel deciding whether you win. If the work meets the three eligibility tests and you file Form T661 by the reporting deadline, the Canada Revenue Agency calculates the credit from your actual expenditures.

Here is what you need to know before anything else: SR&ED pays for work already done, while grants pay for work you propose to do. That single difference shapes every part of the program, from who decides, to when the money arrives, to what documentation survives a review.

The Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) program is the federal R&D incentive administered by the Canada Revenue Agency. Per the program record, it is open to any Canadian business conducting qualifying R&D activities, and it is claimed through the tax system: Form T661 (SR&ED Expenditures Claim) with the corporate T2 return and Form T2SCH31, or Form T2038(IND) for individuals. Claims can be filed at any time up to the reporting deadline, 18 months after the tax year end for a corporation, with no intake windows and no competition rounds.

Because the enhanced 35% credit is refundable, SR&ED behaves unlike most tax deductions: a CCPC with no taxable income still receives the credit as cash. In the GrantCompass catalogue's SR&ED-focused slice, the federal program sits alongside nine provincial R&D credits, and all ten records are active (GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026).

10active records in the SR&ED + provincial R&D credit slice
9provincial credits that stack with the federal claim
3provinces and territories with no provincial credit (PE, NT, NU); NL and YT have real credits per CRA not yet in the catalogue
0intake windows or competition rounds for any of the ten

Grant or credit: which one are you looking at?

If you have already done the R&DSR&ED is your program: claim it on the tax return

SR&ED rewards completed work. The claim is assembled from expenditures you already incurred, filed with the T2 within 18 months of fiscal year end. If the work qualified, the credit pays; nobody competes against you for it.

If you need money before the work startsLook at contribution programs such as NRC IRAP

Contributions such as NRC IRAP fund proposed projects going in, on their own application timelines. SR&ED pays out after the year closes, on the residual you funded yourself.

If you are not incorporatedIndividuals can still claim SR&ED at the basic rate

The record lists Form T2038(IND) for individuals, with a reporting window of 17.5 months from the end of the tax year. Sole proprietors file on the personal return; the eligibility tests are the same.

The verdict

SR&ED is the closest thing Canadian R&D funding has to a guaranteed floor: entitlement-based, claimed through a tax form, and refundable at the enhanced rate. If your company performs qualifying R&D in Canada and files on time, the question is not whether you compete, it is whether your documentation survives the three tests.

Expert deep-dive: the three tests, and what CRA actually looks for

The program record states the three eligibility pillars directly: technological uncertainty (the outcome was not predictable from standard practice or publicly available knowledge), systematic investigation (hypotheses and experiments pursued in an organized way), and technological advancement (the work generated or ruled out new technical knowledge). A project must show all three, and the R&D must be performed in Canada.

The record makes contemporaneous documentation a standing condition, not a nice-to-have: technical records maintained throughout the project. The cheapest compliance system costs nothing: a dated running log of hypotheses, experiments, and results written the day the work happens, plus time allocation for anyone splitting hours between R&D and other duties. Reconstructing the narrative from memory at filing time is the single biggest avoidable weakness a claimant can bring to a review.

How much is the SR&ED tax credit worth in 2026?

Quick answer: a CCPC earns a 35% refundable credit on its first $6,000,000 of qualified SR&ED expenditures, capped at $2,100,000 of enhanced credit per year, and 15% on anything above $6,000,000. Every other claimant earns 15% on the full pool. Provincial credits of 3.5% to 30% stack on top.

Company type is the single biggest lever in the entire program. It is worth more than every other variable combined, so settle it before you estimate anything.

A Canadian-controlled private corporation (CCPC) receives the enhanced 35% rate on the first $6,000,000 of its qualified expenditure pool. Budget 2025 increased that expenditure limit directly from $3,000,000, which is what raised the maximum enhanced credit to $2,100,000 a year. The record presents the enhanced credit as fully refundable: a CCPC receives cash back even when it owes no tax. Per the program record, the enhanced rate also carries income and capital conditions: CCPC status with taxable income under $800,000 and taxable capital under $75,000,000, with phase-outs above those levels.

Everyone else, public corporations, foreign-controlled companies, and CCPC spending above the $6,000,000 limit, earns the 15% basic rate. The table below is the whole federal structure:

Claimant and spend bandFederal rateTreatment
CCPC, first $6,000,000 of qualified expenditures35%Refundable, per the record; maximum enhanced credit $2,100,000/yr
CCPC, expenditures above $6,000,00015%Basic rate on the excess
Other corporations, entire pool15%Basic rate; the record presents the enhanced refundable rate as CCPC-only
Individuals (sole proprietors)15%Claimed on Form T2038(IND) with the personal return
Source: Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) program record, GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026; Department of Finance Canada, Budget 2025.

What the nine provincial credits add

Nine provincial R&D credits stack on top of the federal claim, every one of them active in the catalogue and nearly all of them naming the federal T661 as a prerequisite or companion filing. Here is each record's stated rate:

  • Quebec (CRIC, top of range)20–30%
  • Manitoba15%
  • New Brunswick15%
  • Nova Scotia15%
  • Ontario (OITC 8% + ORDTC 3.5%)11.5%
  • British Columbia10%
  • Saskatchewan10%
  • Alberta (base rate)8%
  • Ontario ORDTC alone3.5%
Provincial R&D credit rates as stated on each program record, GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026. Alberta's Innovation Employment Grant rises to 20% on R&D spending above the claimant's two-year rolling average.
The verdict

On $1,000,000 of eligible spending, the difference between CCPC and non-CCPC status is $200,000 of federal credit before any province is added, plus refundability on top. Confirm your CCPC status before you estimate anything else; every other planning number depends on it.

Expert deep-dive: what Budget 2025 changed

Before Budget 2025, the enhanced 35% rate applied to the first $3,000,000 of qualified expenditures, capping the enhanced credit at $1,050,000. Budget 2025 increased the expenditure limit directly to $6,000,000, doubling the maximum enhanced credit to $2,100,000 per year. For CCPCs spending between $3,000,000 and $6,000,000 a year, the change is worth up to $1,050,000 of additional annual credit, the largest single-program rate improvement in the catalogue this year. Claims for taxation years that predate the change follow the rules of those years.

Who qualifies for SR&ED?

Quick answer: any Canadian business whose work shows technological uncertainty, systematic investigation, and technological advancement, performed in Canada, with contemporaneous documentation. Revenue, profitability, and headcount do not appear in the eligibility test at all.

Here is what you need to know: the bar is technical, not financial. A pre-revenue startup passes the same test as a profitable manufacturer, and both are judged on the work, not the company.

The program record lists the eligibility pillars without any revenue or profitability conditions: qualifying R&D activities showing the three tests, Canadian tax filing with income reported in Canada, R&D performed in Canada, a claim filed by the reporting deadline, and contemporaneous technical documentation maintained throughout the project. For the enhanced rate, add the CCPC conditions described in the rates section above.

Start with your situation

If you are a CCPC with genuine technological uncertaintyClaim at the enhanced rate: 35% refundable on the first $6M

Run the four-question checker at the top of this page, then the estimator. If the work passes the three tests and the documentation is contemporaneous, the enhanced rate is the single largest R&D funding line available to you anywhere in the catalogue.

If you are a public or foreign-controlled corporationClaim at the 15% basic rate

The basic rate applies to the whole pool, with provincial credits still stacking on top where the R&D is performed. Several provincial records, Ontario's OITC among them, explicitly do not require Canadian incorporation, a foreign-parented corporation with a provincial R&D subsidiary can still qualify provincially.

If you are pre-revenueClaim anyway: the enhanced credit is refundable

The record presents the enhanced 35% credit as refundable, so a CCPC with no tax owing receives cash. A startup spending $200,000 on eligible R&D would receive approximately $70,000. The 18-month reporting deadline applies in full.

If your R&D happens mostly outside CanadaOnly the Canadian-performed share is claimable

The record requires R&D work performed in Canada. The rates on this page apply only to the Canadian-based portion of the project; plan the split before you estimate.

If the work was routine developmentSR&ED is unlikely to apply, no matter the entity

Known techniques and predictable outcomes fail the technological-uncertainty test at any rate. Contribution programs such as NRC IRAP fund R&D-adjacent projects that tax credits will not touch.

Pass or fail: two concrete examples

Consider a Saskatchewan agtech team trying to shrink a crop-analysis model below the memory limit of an edge device, with no published technique to copy. Months of documented experiments narrow the uncertainty. That is systematic investigation toward a technological advancement: it passes. The same team later implements a well-documented published technique and tunes it for their data. The build is hard, but the solution was already known, so that portion fails the uncertainty test, no matter how many hours it took.

The verdict

Before committing staff time to a claim, answer three questions in writing: what was the problem whose outcome was not predictable from standard practice, what new knowledge did the work generate or rule out, and what dated records prove the investigation happened? If any answer requires reconstructing from memory, that project is not ready to claim.

Expert deep-dive: why documentation is the real eligibility test

The record phrases documentation as a maintained-throughout condition, and that phrasing is the practical heart of qualification. A claim whose technical narrative is reconstructed at filing time depends on memory against CRA's expectation of contemporaneous records. A claim built on a dated project log, recorded experiments, and allocated timesheets answers the review from evidence instead. The strongest claimants set the logging habit before the project starts, when the hypotheses are fresh, not after year end when the return is due.

How does the SR&ED claim process work?

Quick answer: identify and document eligible work during the year, file Form T661 with the T2 return six months after year end for the fastest processing, and never miss the reporting deadline: 18 months after the tax year end for corporations, 17.5 months for individuals, with no extensions.

Here is what you need to know: the deadline is the one truly unforgiving part of SR&ED. An expenditure not reported on Form T661 by the reporting deadline earns no incentive, and the record states there are no extensions.

  1. Identify eligible projects as they happen and maintain contemporaneous technical documentation: hypotheses, experiments, results, and time allocation. This is the record's standing condition, and it decides more claims than any arithmetic.
  2. File the T2 corporate return with Form T661 (SR&ED Expenditures Claim) and Form T2SCH31 (Investment Tax Credit, Corporations). Individuals file Form T2038(IND) with the personal return. The record recommends this timing for the fastest processing.
  3. The SR&ED reporting deadline: 12 months after the filing due date of the return. For individuals the window is 17.5 months from the end of the tax year. No extensions. Calendar it the day the fiscal year closes.
  4. A 45-day processing target applies to timely refundable claims that are not selected for review, effective April 2026. Claims selected for review take longer; respond promptly with the contemporaneous documentation.

The forms, per the records

JurisdictionFiling vehicleDeadline per the record
Federal (SR&ED)Form T661 + T2SCH31, or T2038(IND) for individuals18 months after year end (corporations); 17.5 months (individuals)
Ontario (OITC + ORDTC)T2 with Schedule 508 (ORDTC); T661 and Schedule 31 for OITC18 months after fiscal year end
Quebec (CRIC)Form RD-1029.8.CR-T with the CO-17 return18 months after fiscal year end
Alberta (Innovation Employment Grant)AT1 Schedule 29, with the federal T661 as prerequisite21 months after fiscal year end; federal T661 within 18 months
ManitobaT2 corporate return with T661 as the gatewayAnnually with the T2, within 18 months of fiscal year end
SaskatchewanCRA Schedule 403 with the T2Standard T2 deadline, six months after fiscal year end
British ColumbiaForm T666 with the T218 months after the end of the tax year
New BrunswickSchedule 360 with the corporate returnAnnually with the corporate return
Nova ScotiaSchedule 340 with the Nova Scotia T218 months after the corporation's tax year end
Forms and deadlines as stated on each program record, GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026.

The five mistakes that shrink or kill claims

  • Missing the reporting deadline. Eighteen months after year end, no extensions, no incentive for unreported expenditures. The only mistake on this list with no recovery.
  • Claiming routine development. Hard work with known techniques fails the technological-uncertainty test regardless of effort or cost.
  • Reconstructed documentation. Technical narratives written at filing time from memory contradict the record's contemporaneous-documentation condition and read differently to a reviewer than a dated project log.
  • Undocumented time allocation. People who split hours between R&D and other work need records of the split; unallocated estimates are the fastest route to a reduced claim.
  • Treating commercial risk as technological uncertainty. "Will customers buy it" is a commercial question. "Can the system hit a performance target no known method reaches" is a technological one. Only the second is claimable.
The verdict

File with the T2 six months after year end, treat the 18-month line as immovable, and let contemporaneous records do the talking if CRA reviews. The claimants who lose money are rarely the ones whose science was weak; they are the ones whose paperwork was written after the fact.

Which provincial R&D credits stack with federal SR&ED?

Quick answer: all nine of them. Every provincial credit in the catalogue is separate from and additional to the federal SR&ED credit, is claimed on its own provincial schedule, and nearly all name the federal T661 as a prerequisite or companion filing. Three provinces and territories (PE, NT, NU) have no provincial credit; Newfoundland and Labrador and Yukon have real credits per CRA that are not yet separate records in the catalogue.

Stacking is where SR&ED stops being a 35% story and becomes a 46%, 50%, or higher story. The estimator at the top of this page computes any combination; here is what each record states.

ProvinceCredit (record title)Rate per recordRefundabilityCap per record
OntarioOntario Innovation Tax Credit + ORDTC8% + 3.5%OITC refundable; ORDTC non-refundableOITC up to $240,000; ORDTC up to $500,000
QuebecR&D Tax Credit (CRIC)20% to 30%RefundableNo cap stated
AlbertaAlberta Innovation Employment Grant8% base, 20% incrementalRefundableUp to $4M
British ColumbiaSR&ED Tax Credit10%Refundable$6M expenditure base; Budget 2026 made it permanent
ManitobaR&D Tax Credit15%50% refundable in-house; fully refundable via qualifying Manitoba institutionsNo cap stated
SaskatchewanR&D Tax Credit10%Refundable for CCPCs$1M/yr credit cap; first $2M of expenditures
New BrunswickR&D Tax Credit15%RefundableNo cap
Nova ScotiaR&D Tax Credit15%RefundableNo cap
Every rate, cap, and status as stated on the individual program record, GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026. All ten records in this slice are active.

What stacking does to your combined rate

For a CCPC inside the enhanced band, the combined recovery is the 35% federal rate plus the provincial rate on the same eligible spending. Worked from each record's stated rate:

  • Quebec (35% + 30%)up to 65%
  • Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia (35% + 15%)50%
  • Ontario (35% + 8% + 3.5%)46.5%
  • British Columbia, Saskatchewan (35% + 10%)45%
  • Alberta at base rate (35% + 8%)43%
Federal 35% enhanced rate plus each provincial record's stated rate; ranges shown where the record states a range. GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026.

Ontario's two-credit system

Ontario runs two credits side by side, and the records state different character for each. The Ontario Innovation Tax Credit is an 8% refundable credit with a record amount of up to $240,000, phased out as prior-year taxable capital of the associated group rises past $50 million; corporations need a permanent establishment in Ontario, and Canadian incorporation is not required, a foreign-parented corporation with an Ontario R&D subsidiary can still qualify. The ORDTC adds 3.5% as a generally non-refundable credit with a record amount of up to $500,000, claimed on Schedule 508, and it requires qualification for the federal SR&ED ITC under section 127 of the Income Tax Act. Together they lift an Ontario CCPC to a combined 46.5% on eligible spending.

Quebec's CRIC transition

For taxation years beginning after March 25, 2025, the legacy Quebec SR&ED credit is replaced by the CRIC (Tax Credit for Research, Innovation and Commercialization). Per the record, a corporation can still claim the legacy R&D credits for any taxation year that begins before March 26, 2025, with each such year carrying its own filing deadline. The CRIC claim is filed annually with the CO-17 Quebec corporation return using form RD-1029.8.CR-T, within 18 months of fiscal year end, at a stated rate of 20% to 30% depending on company size. If your straddle year began near the March 25, 2025 line, check which regime each year falls under before you plan rates.

Prairies and Atlantic

Manitoba's 15% credit is 50% refundable for in-house R&D and fully refundable when the work is contracted to a qualifying Manitoba educational institution or research institute, with a 20-year carryforward and 3-year carryback for unused non-refundable portions. Saskatchewan's 10% credit is refundable for CCPCs on the first $2,000,000 of annual qualifying expenditures (the limit rose from $1,000,000 effective December 16, 2024) with a $1,000,000 annual credit cap. Alberta's Innovation Employment Grant pays an 8% base rate, rising to 20% on R&D spending above the claimant's two-year rolling average, up to $4M a year per the record, filed via AT1 Schedule 29 within 21 months of fiscal year end. British Columbia's 10% refundable credit applies to a base of up to $6,000,000 of qualified expenditures and was made permanent by Budget 2026. New Brunswick and Nova Scotia each offer a 15% refundable credit with no cap, claimed on Schedule 360 and Schedule 340 respectively.

The verdict

The best stacking story in the catalogue belongs to Quebec claimants at the top CRIC rate (up to 65% combined) and to Manitoba, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia claimants (50% combined with no cap stated on their records). Ontario's 46.5% is the most mechanically reliable: two credits, one T2, one deadline. Whatever your province, the federal T661 is the gateway filing, so the 18-month federal deadline governs the whole stack.

Sources & official references

  1. SR&ED Tax Incentive Program, Canada Revenue Agency (canada.ca)
  2. Ontario Innovation Tax Credit, Government of Ontario (ontario.ca)
  3. Ontario Research and Development Tax Credit, Government of Ontario (ontario.ca)
  4. Quebec CRIC (Tax Credit for Research, Innovation and Commercialization), Revenu Québec (finances.gouv.qc.ca)
  5. Innovation Employment Grant, Government of Alberta (alberta.ca)
  6. Manitoba Research and Development Tax Credit, Government of Manitoba (gov.mb.ca)
  7. Saskatchewan Research and Development Tax Credit, Government of Saskatchewan (saskatchewan.ca)
  8. British Columbia SR&ED Tax Credit, Government of British Columbia (www2.gov.bc.ca)
  9. New Brunswick Research and Development Tax Credit, Government of New Brunswick (www2.gnb.ca)
  10. Nova Scotia Research and Development Tax Credit, Government of Nova Scotia (novascotia.ca)
  11. Program details verified against the GrantCompass catalogue, September 2026: SR&ED program record and the nine provincial credit records linked above.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SR&ED tax credit rate in Canada in 2026?
The federal SR&ED investment tax credit has two rates. Canadian-controlled private corporations (CCPCs) receive a 35% refundable enhanced rate on the first $6,000,000 of qualified expenditures; the expenditure limit increased from $3,000,000 in Budget 2025, which caps the enhanced credit at $2,100,000 per year. Expenditures above $6,000,000, and all expenditures of other claimants, earn the 15% basic rate. Nine provincial R&D credits stack on top of the federal credit, from 3.5% (the Ontario ORDTC) to 30% (the Quebec CRIC, per the record's rate range).
What is the difference between the enhanced 35% rate and the basic 15% rate?
The enhanced 35% rate is reserved for CCPCs and applies to their first $6,000,000 of qualified SR&ED expenditures. The record presents it as fully refundable, so a CCPC receives cash back even with no tax owing. The basic 15% rate applies to expenditures above the $6,000,000 limit and to claimants that are not CCPCs. Per the program record, the enhanced rate requires CCPC status with taxable income under $800,000 and taxable capital under $75,000,000 before phase-outs. On $1,000,000 of eligible spending, the difference between the two rates is $200,000 of federal credit.
Can a startup with no revenue claim SR&ED?
Yes. Because the record presents the enhanced 35% credit as refundable, a pre-revenue CCPC can receive cash back with no tax owing. A startup spending $200,000 on eligible R&D would receive approximately $70,000 at the enhanced rate. The eligibility bar is identical to any claimant: the work must involve technological uncertainty pursued through systematic investigation toward technological advancement, it must be performed in Canada, and the documentation must be maintained contemporaneously. The reporting deadline, 18 months after the tax year end for a corporation, applies in full.
What work qualifies for SR&ED?
Per the program record, qualifying R&D activities must show three things: technological uncertainty (the outcome was not predictable from standard practice), systematic investigation (hypotheses and experiments pursued in an organized way), and technological advancement (the work generated or ruled out new technical knowledge). The work must be performed in Canada, and contemporaneous technical documentation must be maintained throughout the project. Routine development with known techniques does not qualify, no matter how hard the build was.
When is the SR&ED filing deadline?
The SR&ED reporting deadline is 12 months after the filing due date of the income tax return for the year, which works out to 18 months after the tax year end for corporations and 17.5 months for individuals. There are no extensions. An expenditure not reported on Form T661 by that deadline earns no incentive. Filing the claim with the T2 return, six months after year end, is recommended for the fastest processing.
How long does an SR&ED refund take?
Per the program record, a 45-day processing target applies to timely refundable claims that are not selected for review, effective April 2026. Claims flagged for review take longer, and the record recommends filing with the T2 return six months after year end for the fastest path through the queue.
Do provincial R&D credits stack with federal SR&ED?
Yes. All nine provincial R&D credits in the GrantCompass catalogue are separate from and additional to the federal SR&ED credit, and nearly all name the federal T661 as a prerequisite or companion filing. An Ontario CCPC stacks the 35% federal enhanced rate with the 8% Ontario Innovation Tax Credit and the 3.5% ORDTC for a combined 46.5% on the same eligible spending. Quebec's CRIC can add 20% to 30%, and Manitoba, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia each add 15%.
What changed for SR&ED in Budget 2025?
Budget 2025 increased the expenditure limit for the enhanced 35% rate directly from $3,000,000 to $6,000,000 for CCPCs, raising the maximum enhanced credit to $2,100,000 per year. The catalogue's SR&ED record reflects the new limit; claims for earlier years follow the rules of those years.
Which provinces have no provincial R&D credit in the catalogue?
Three provinces and territories have no provincial R&D tax credit in the GrantCompass catalogue: Prince Edward Island, the Northwest Territories, and Nunavut. Newfoundland and Labrador and Yukon have real 15% refundable credits per CRA that are not yet separate records in the catalogue. Claimants in PE, NT and NU receive the federal SR&ED credit only.
Should I prepare the claim myself or work with a practitioner?
The program record requires Form T661 (SR&ED Expenditures Claim) plus Form T2SCH31 for corporations or Form T2038(IND) for individuals, filed within the reporting deadline. This page summarizes the program for guidance and is not tax advice. Many claimants prepare the technical narrative with an accountant or SR&ED practitioner; the deadline and the documentation requirements are the same either way.

You just priced one credit. Three to five more are waiting.

Most SR&ED claimants also qualify for hiring, training, export, and equipment funding, and never apply for any of it. We find every programme you fit, keep the list current all year, and draft your applications for you. Your SR&ED claim stays yours to file: we do not file your T661.

See your matches free first and keep the list, no account, no card.

30-day money-back guarantee on either plan. Full refund, no questions.